Tri Track Open Modified Series Announces 2020 Points Format 
Best Five of Six Races To Be Counted Towards Championship;
Registrations Open For New Season 

By Kyle Souza 

SEEKONK, Mass. — Tri Track Open Modified Series officials announced on Wednesday the point standings structure that will be used for the 2020 season.  

As part of six events, drivers will tally points in each feature. In 2020, the champion will be decided by taking the best five out of six point totals a driver receives. Drivers will no longer be required to attend all six events to score the championship, but with a drop race factored into the totals, the new format allows for a driver to have a miscue, while still being in contention for the title.

“This will give drivers a bit more of a buffer in case something goes wrong at one of the races,” Wayne Darling, one of two Managing Partners of the Tri Track Open Modified Series, said. “This is just one of many announcements we will have over the next few months. We’re looking forward to getting the season underway in May.”

The entire point fund for the season totals $15,000 in prize money, with the top 15 spots in the final standings set to earn a bonus. 

The series also announced that registrations for the season are open and rules have been posted to the website. Teams can register and see rules by visiting the all-new Tri Track Open Modified Series website,, and visiting the team info page. 

If race teams complete the registration for the full season between January 16 and March 31, the charge is just $450 for six events. 

Any full season registrations made after March 31 will be $550. For those competitors interested in just registering for one event, the cost is $150 per event. Teams can send registration payment to the Tri Track PayPal account,, through the website.

After just a few days, more than a handful of teams have already entered. Owner Stan Mertz has entered with Woody Pitkat set to return behind the wheel, while upcoming racers Ryan Doucette and Dylan Izzo are also on the list. Joey Cipriano, a regular in Stafford Motor Speedway’s SK Modified division joins them, along with others. The list is growing daily. 

The 2020 schedule begins on Saturday, May 2, when drivers will take to the high-banks of Monadnock Speedway in Winchester, N.H., to open the year. After that, a stop at Claremont Speedway on Memorial Day weekend (May 24), is followed by the annual Open Wheel Wednesday at Seekonk Speedway, the only mid-week show, on Wednesday, July 1. The final three races include the annual SBM 125 at Star Speedway (July 25), Monadnock Speedway (August 15) and the annual Haunted Hundred at Seekonk Speedway (October 24), where the champion will be crowned. 

Any teams with questions ahead of the season can reach Managing Partner Ed Bennett at 732-278-6200 or Technical Inspector Director Greg Felton at 413-695-2272.